Cabaret and Burlesque Meetup

June 19, 2008

Okay so I think I briefly mentioned the Cabaret and Burlesque meetup before, but I should probably fill you in on more of the details since I myself will be performing there!

The monthly meetups have been running for just over a year now out of Madam JoJos in Soho (where yours truly was lucky enough to perform…) and are basically a platform for like-minded people, promoters, performers and fans of Cabaret and Burlesque to catch up over a cocktail and meet and greet. The lovely Catherine Crawley (of the Rubadub Social Club) has been ever so clever in setting them about and putting together a great line up time and again. Unfortunately I missed the one year anniversary with the 1940’s military theme (victory rolls well and truly on the menu) but I will however be lucky enough to perform at their new venue over on Brick Lane… that’s Vibe Live at the Truman Brewery for anyone not paying attention last time!

It really is a night with such a lovely atmosphere – I’ve said it time and time again, but those BurlyQ folks are some of the friendliest and welcoming that I’ve had the pleasure to meet. I took my friend Jaz along for her first taste of Burlesque, and over the space of one evening and a crazily low entry price; she got to see the likes of Agent Lynch who popped over to say hello, Annette Betty, Femme Ferale and the return of drag legend Ruby Venezuela. Her favourite were Femme Ferale who did their 40’s military act… but I have to say I am biased and went for Agent Lynch’s Barbarella as mine!

So if you lovely people want to come along for an affordable night out in one of the trendiest parts of London (what else would you be doing on a Thursday evening…?) and see some top notch performers to boot, then I thoroughly suggest you try and make it down. If the promise of my new business cards wasn’t enough to tempt you then surely my heartfelt recommendation should do the trick.

And er… mine’s a glass of white thanks darlings…!

One Response to “Cabaret and Burlesque Meetup”

  1. jazcummins Says:

    Yay! It was a great intro! I’m defo going to try and make it again x

Leave a Reply

